How about me translating my own Poetry

A new idea is rounding around my head. How about me, translating my Kannada poems by my own. Am I able to convert the words and convey what I was about to. Am I able to use English words to express my thoughts? May not be, but not impossible. Let me try,

 

Original Poem(Kavana):

 

ಕದ್ದು ಮುಚ್ಚಿ ಹೃದಯ ಕದ್ದು ಹೀಗೆ ನಗುತಿಹೆ,
ಹುಡುಕಿ ಹುಡುಕಿ ನಾ ಬೇಸತ್ತು ನಿನ್ನ ನೆನೆದಿಹೆ.
ಕಣ್ಣ ಅಂಚ ನೋಟವೊಂದು ನಿಜವ ನುಡಿದಿದೆ,
ಅದನೆ ಕೊಂಚ ನಂಬಿಕೊಂಡು ನಾನು ಬಂದಿಹೆ.

 

Poetry Translation before proof reading:

 

Steal and close the heart and smile like this,

Search for me

An eye-catching look is true,

I came to believe it somehow.

 

Poetry Translation after edits:

 

By playing hide and seek, you stole my heart and now smiling like this,

I am tired by searching for you

An eye-catching look is telling truth,

I came by believing it somehow.

 

Oh My God! Lots of variations… I can’t believe… This is how proof reading becomes very essential. The frame of words speaks here and there with no beginning and end. A lot has to be edited to bring to nearest expression.

10 thoughts on “How about me translating my own Poetry

Leave a Reply

